Know yourself better: 3 effective questions

We all keep learning during life more about ourselves, about our dreams, about how we are. But a certain knowledge of ourselves is very important in order to take the important decisions in life, such as marriage, career path and other decisions we may take. I would like to share with you what has helped me in my 20ies to get to know myself better and allowed me to work on myself. I asked and still ask myself the following questions:

1. What do I like & dislike and why?

This is such a general but yet important question to make. I started asking myself what music, food, weather, etc. I liked or disliked and asked myself why. E.g. I learned that I like upbeat music, as music influences very much my mood and emotions. I like to be positive, so I listen to music that makes me feel positive.

Then I would also ask myself what I like and dislike about myself. There are things that we can’t change sometimes, but I try to focus on what I can change. I dislike my weight, so I try to eat healthier and be more active. I like a few qualities I have, so I try to cultivate them and try to surround myself with people that help me to be better.

2. What is the most important thing to me?

May it be our family, our friends, our job, sports or a hobby- we all have to choose our priorities in life. As soon as I knew what was the most important thing to me, I tried to take the important decisions in my life around my priority in order to be able to continue giving my priority the needed attention. If we can take our time for the important things in life, this will contribute that we feel happy.

3. How do I react…and why do I react like that?

…when I’m mad

…when I’m sad

…when someone else has something I would like to have or does something I would like to do

This is the most profound question which helps me to detect where I most need to work on. Concerning the last point for example, I discovered that in the past, I felt jealousy at times. Admitting this to myself was hard, but helped me to take the necessary steps to completely erase it from my heart.

the-first-step

I hope that these 3 personal questions will also help you to know yourself better and work on yourself in order to have a healthy inner-life and be happy. Please let me know in the comments below what has helped you to work on yourself. Is there a specific question you ask yourself? Thanks for reading and sharing your experiences! Much love!!

 

Leave a Reply

