How to take care of curly hair in winter

The beautiful time of the year has arrived. Trees and houses are covered with the white powder and invite us for a walk -or to stay in our cozy home with a hot chocolate and a good book. Yet it’s the hardest time of the year to find a proper hair routine for curly hair. Wash-n-go is at this temperatures definitely a no-go if you live at a cooler place. How can you keep your hair moisturized and healthy during this time? Here are a few of my personal suggestions which helped me and will hopefully also serve you.

How to maintain healthy hair during winter time

Don’t wash your hair too often

If you don’t sweat too much, it’s not needed to wash your hair as often as if it was summer. Try to listen to your body and let your scalp let you know whenever a wash is needed.

Try to avoid damaging chemicals & switch to natural products

This is a good advice for all year. Try to use a sulfate-free shampoo/co-wash and conditioner without parabens.

Detangle in between the washes

After day 3 of washing my hair, I get a lot of knots and tend to wear my hair in a bun for the next few days. If I would wait for my next wash to detangle (which normally is around day 7), I can guarantee you a war in my bathroom. There would be no deaths but a lot of pain when trying to separate the strands. Therefore, I suggest to wet the hair if you have some extra time in the shower. If your hair isn’t dirty, simply detangle with a good amount of conditioner and you will be fine for the next few days. Also don’t forget that…

 

Deep-conditioning is a must (before or after cleansing)

We all live in busy days where it’s hard to dedicate time to everything we may like. But it’s definitely worth it to dedicate some time to moisturize. I personally like to deep-condition with coconut oil, honey and organic avocado oil before I wash my hair. I let it sit for 30 minutes to one hour and rinse it out. After washing my hair, I also like to use a deep-conditioner while taking care of the rest of my body under the shower. As I usually deep-conditioned before, I only let it do it’s magic for around 10 minutes before I rinse it out. A spritz of cold water before leaving the shower and using a microfiber towel helps to prevent frizz.

 

Style your hair with good moisturizing products

I remember not using any hair products after the shower when I was a girl. Let’s say my hair would get very frizzy and tend to get knots. Awful! Therefore, moisturizing when styling my hair is very important and plays definitely a big role in my hair routine. At the moment, my hair loves the Coconut Curling Cream by Cantu sooo much! I would use this product in combination with the Vatika Naturals Black Seed Oil, which smells amazing. If you have time and will not leave the house, I suggest to air dry  or to dry on low heat.

Don’t wet your hair if it’s not needed

You don’t need to re-wet your hair every morning to style it. This may cause dryness and may make you sick if you leave the house with wet hair. Try to use instead oils and to try a different hairstyle (e.g. half-up/half-down).

Hopefully, there was one or more suggestions you can also implement in your hair winter routine, no matter if you are a curly head or not. Much love!!

 

Leave a Reply

